Sotsil

Stale Croissants? No Problem! January 18, 2010

What do you do with stale bread?  Make a pudding.  What do you do with stale or leftover croissants?  Again, make a pudding!

cran pudding2

I can’t think of any other way to recycle bread and baked goods.  Of course I can always reduce them to bite sized pieces and throw them into my favorite soup but I like my soups unadulterated!

My brother and I enjoyed this pudding.  One, it did not need any syrup.  Two, the croissants produced a lighter and flakier pudding as opposed to using bread; although this texture is apparent only when the pudding comes out fresh from the oven.  Three, there are only 5-6 ingredients and you most likely have them already.  Four, you can make this pudding with store-bought croissants if you have no leftovers.  The ones I bought were from Mourelatos, a Greek supermarket in my city, and they were huge.  These croissants did not feel greasy or over-buttery and when I sliced them, they had nice little holes in the crumb – a good sign!

When you refrigerate the pudding and eat it again the next morning, it loses a bit of that flaky and light texture but the taste is more enhanced because the cranberry seeps in.  After you take a slice, break it again into thinner slices before  microwaving.  Nuked for 22 seconds, it tastes heavenly.  There’s something about cranberries in baked goods that I can’t put my finger on.  It’s one item that I will always keep in stock; sometimes I think they taste better than raisins.

But don’t let me mislead you.  The recipe calls for cranberry sauce – not fresh cranberries.  You spread it generously over the first layer of broken croissant pieces.  When you put your second layer of croissants, you can top it with a handful of dried cranberries for decoration.

If you want to make this pudding (great for cold winter mornings), you can get it here:  http://francais-anglais.blogspot.com/2009/12/french-to-english-recipes-for-christmas.html.  This is my other blog on French to English translation, and this was the first recipe I featured when I translated French recipes into English.  I plucked it out of Coup de Pouce, a French Canadian weekly published by the Transcontinental Group of Companies.  I did not use 6 croissants.  I used only 3 and halved the recipe.  Once they’re sliced, they adequately fill up a 8 x 11 casserole with two layers.

Seeing that this recipe is both in French and English, your daughter who’s studying French and who likes to bake might want to try it; this time, she won’t need her bilingual dictionary.  But she will need the croissants, cranberries and the other ingredients!

Want to see what a slice looked like before I devoured it, along with piping hot French mocha coffee and cold grapefruit juice?

cranb pudding3

Fattening and swimming in calories?  Yes but…who cares?

 

Leave a Reply

