Sotsil

Brie Cheese in pasta December 21, 2009

Filed under: Meals — sotsil @ 9:40 pm
Tags: , , ,

This dish has a whopping 531 calories PER serving!

brie pasta salad

No matter.  I never had brie cheese mixed into a pasta salad so I was willing to turn a blind eye to the calories.  Plus I didn’t want to have an argument going on in my head about being more weight conscious and going on the proverbial guilt trip.  My goal at that moment was to eat well…and heartily!

I seldom have brie cheese, and when I do, I eat it with crackers or a few slices of a baguette.  I know that there are numerous recipes that have brie tossed into them.  I clipped this recipe from the Montreal Gazette; unfortunately, I didn’t get the name of the author who shared it.  Sorry, my bad.

The recipe is simple to make.  You get your daily requirements of protein, fat, carbs, fibre and sodium.  The original one serves 12 people, but I halved the recipe.  (I’m posting the one that serves 12 – just in case you’re scrambling to find a meal that will feed that many people).  This dish might come in handy if you’re running out of ideas and there are barely any leftovers in the fridge!  Perhaps there’s an unopened package of brie cheese somewhere – use it before the expiry date!

You’ll need:

4 large ripe tomatoes, cubed

1 pound brie cheese (about 500 grams).  Remove the rind and cut into bite-size pieces

1 cup fresh basil leaves, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped finely

1 cup + 1 tbsp olive oil (divided)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

1-1/2 pounds rotini pasta (or any pasta of your choice)

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

To make the salad:

1.  Combine the tomaties, brie, basil, garlic 1 cup of olive oil, salt and pepper in a large bowl.  Cover and let rest for 2 hours.

2.  Cook pasta according to package directions.  You can add 1 tbsp of salt and 1 tbsp of olive oil.  Cook the pasta al dente.  Drain well.

3.  When completely drained, add the pasta into the tomato mixture and blend the ingredients thoroughly.  Season with salt and pepper. 

4.  Before serving, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

A comment or two:

*  I like Italian tomatoes – they’re juicier.

*  I didn’t have fresh basil so I used dried.  Using fresh would give this dish more “twang.”

*  I would use more than 3 garlic cloves (blending garlic with Parmesan cheese tickles the taste buds!)

*  Instead of rotini, I used penne (for its sturdier texture)

*  I forget what brand of brie cheese I bought (I don’t think it matters).

Eat and be merry!  For once, forget the calories.  I equate the holidays with a tad of indulgence – and not necessarily with alcohol.  It’s perfectly legit to spoil yourself with good, “hit-the-spot” food.  The gym will open again on the 2nd of January.  gym

 

One Response to “Brie Cheese in pasta”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Thanks for stopping by our blog. You have a very nice one too. Here is that recipe you were wondering about and have a nice new year!

    * 1 (7-ounce) pouch albacore tuna, drained well and shredded by hand
    * 2 green onions, chopped fine
    * 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
    * 2 large eggs, beaten
    * 1 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
    * 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
    * 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    * 3/4 cup panko bread crumbs, divided
    * Olive oil, for sauteing

    Directions

    Place the tuna, onions, mustard, eggs, lemon juice, salt, pepper and 1/4 cup of the bread crumbs into a medium mixing bowl and stir to combine. Divide the mixture into 8 rounds and set aside on a parchment lined half sheet pan. Allow to rest for 15 minutes. Place the remaining bread crumbs into a pie plate. One at a time, coat each round in the panko on all sides.

    Heat enough olive oil to cover the bottom of a 12-inch saute pan over medium heat until shimmering. Add the croquettes and cook 2 to 3 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Remove to a cooling rack set over a half sheet pan lined with paper towels. Allow to cool for 2 to 3 minutes before serving.


Leave a Reply

