Sotsil

Mango Bread: from Pulp to Dough September 7, 2009

Filed under: Breads — sotsil @ 9:08 pm
Tags: , ,

I did say I like sweet rolls, soft buns and loaves but when I saw this recipe for mango bread, I wasn’t that keen on making it.  “Probably a muffin-type bread”, I said to myself.  But reading the recipe more attentively, I noticed the yeast.  This wasn’t for muffins, I decided, so… why not give it a try?

mangobread1        mango3

I’m glad I did.  Besides, I had left over mango pulp.  When friends dropped by one Sunday, I served them my favorite mango lassi drink with cardamom.  The thing with mango pulp is once you open the can, it will retain its flavor and freshness in the fridge for only three days.   This mango recipe was an excellent way NOT to waste my pulp.

The recipe was intended for the bread machine but I like to pride myself in making bread from scratch so I took the ingredients and tweaked the procedure to make it the old-fashioned way (okay, I confess: I have no bread machine).

 mango bread ingPROCEDURE:

1.  Put yeast and the 2 tbsp of sugar in 1/4 cup lukewarm water and set aside for 10 minutes until frothy.

2.  Mix the rest of the ingredients together and then add the yeast mixture.  The one cup of wheat flour must be added gradually and in small amounts until  the dough reaches the right consistency and texture.

3.  Start kneading the dough – about 10 minutes.

4.  Form dough into ball and place in a greased bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and leave it for 60-90 minutes (until it doubles in size).

5.  Punch down the dough.  Flatten with a rolling pin and knead gently for about a minute.  Shape into an oval.  Cover with plastic wrap and let it rest – about 60 minutes.

6.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  With a sharp blade or knife, cut diagonal lines on the dough as seen in the first picture.  Brush with melted butter.

7.   Bake for 30-35 minutes, turning the dough to other side at half time.

8.   Let bread cool on a wire rack before slicing.

Note:  If you don’t like bread that’s too dense, don’t use the vital wheat gluten.  The next time I’ll make it, I will not include the vital wheat gluten so I can compare the density.

I was pleased with the outcome. The bread was tasty, its texture just right.  If you look at the second picture, you’ll notice some tiny holes in the bread.  I’m not sure what bread experts would say about those holes.  I’ve read posts in forums that say the more holes a bread has, the better; others say the opposite.  Diehard “breadsters” make much ado about holes.  My feeling is that the hole issue applies more to crumb and crust breads instead of to rolls, buns and loaves.

Holes or no holes, this mango bread recipe is a keeper.  It goes well with butter and a cup of mocha or hazelnut coffee, by the way.  My brother says he prefers to eat it without butter so that the bread’s mango flavor hits the palate bang on!

 

Leave a Reply

